Andr.Unit joins the family

I had the chance to play with Mono for Android last Thursday and Friday – and continued over the weekend. I had planned to do a bit on Windows to test the new installer but my not yet 6 months old iMac died (along with my Windows virtual machines). Nevertheless it was a pleasant experience using MonoDevelop on OSX – thanks to my recently received MacBook Air :-)

It made me realize how lucky iOS developers are to have a simulator compared to an emulator (95% of the time anyway) – but it was definitively not as slow as I have heard. Although getting the i7 upgrade on the MacBook Air might be related to my opinion on the subject. Debugging on a device (Nexus S) was just like I’m used with MonoTouch and an iPad.

Once I completed the tutorials I begin to look for a sample project. A quick googling showed me no one has forked and published a port of Touch.Unit to Android. It did not look very tempting, as a first project, until I noticed MonoDroid.Dialog and it’s many forks and modifications, including mine now.

At this stage temptation was too great to hack anything else and Andr.Unit was born. It’s not yet as complete as Touch.Unit but that’s something I want to fix asap. Anyway I hope it will make life easier to android .net developers and to all people working on cross platform .net applications.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: make sure to get my MonoDroid.Dialog fork if you want to build this using Mono for Android 1.9.2.

About spouliot

Xamarin Hacker, Mono Contributor, Open Source Enthusiast with strong interests in Code Analysis, Cryptography and Security. Presently working on MonoTouch, previous projects were Moonlight and libgdiplus and a lot of the cryptographic work done on Mono.
This entry was posted in andr.unit, mono, mono4android, touch.unit, xamarin. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Andr.Unit joins the family

  1. Very cool stuff dude!
    Definitely going to try this one out. Any word on build integration maybe?

    • spouliot says:

      Thanks :) I have not looked at build integration but since Mono for Android support xbuild (msbuild) then I do not anticipate any problem. Was there something specific you had in mind ?

  2. Pingback: Andr.Unit features parity | surprisingly unimpressed

Leave a Reply

